--

How exactly is acknowledging racism some "sweeping generalization"? A few things I know for sure: I was born in a hospital that practiced racial segregation so my mother, a married woman, a college graduate, the wife of a veteran spent the hours after I was born in the hallway because there were no beds in the "colored" ward. She did something about that little problem, which knowing my mother was not little in her mind, not by a long shot: she got another OB/GYN for her next pregnancies and my sisters and brother were born at St. Louis' Jewish Hospital.

Of course this stuff isn't exactly over. My youngest sister and her husband had to argue with the medical staff when she was delivering their son to explain that they were a married Black couple at Lenox Hill Hospital in Brooklyn 15 years ago.

Yeah, like really?

--

--